Billing system explained

If you are new to our payment & billing system, you might want to read this first: Payment Options & How to make a payment

Dual billing system

We support both subscription based and pay-as-you-go billings. The logic is that our billing system will check the used resources against all active subscription plans and the "overuse" - resources usage that isn't covered by the subscription plans - will be charged against the pre-pay credit balance.

Please regularly check your pre-pay balance even if you intend to pay for all resource usage via subscriptions - your servers will be powered down immediately if your pre-pay balance goes into negative.

An example: this is how data transfer is charged

While the data transfer usage is below the subscribed level, the prepay balance isn't charged. Also, when the data transfer usage reaches a certain percentage of the subscribed level (80%, 95%, and 100%), we will send an automated email alert.

Once the data transfer usage exceeds the subscribed level, the overflow data transfer will be charged against the prepay balance on double price rate. This will keep your servers running, while the prepay balance is in the positive. However, once the balance reaches zero, the servers will be turned off and won't be able to restart while the prepay balance is zero or below zero. When this happens, we will also send an automated email and SMS alert.

If a user doesn't have any data transfer allowance in their subscription plan - or doesn't have subscriptions at all - the data transfer will be charged against the prepay balance from the start. Meanwhile, if a user has data allowance in a subscription but no credits on prepay balance.

Automated payments

You can set your subscription plans to automatically renew before their expiration when you purchase them. The top of plan form includes an "auto-renew" option which must be ticked off and the payment method must be credit card payment - unfortunately, this doesn't work with Paypal payments.

You can also set your pre-pay balance to be topped up automatically after reaching a certain point. This can be set after making any payment toward the prepay balance. After the payment was sent, you will be directed to a page where you can set at what level the auto top-up should be triggered and how much payment should be made to your pre-pay balance.

Notifications

To keep our customers informed about their billing situation, we send out automated messages in a number of scenarios. In your user account's Profile section you can add additional email addresses to receive these notifications.

Data transfer:

  • when the data transfer usage reaches a certain percentage of the subscribed level (80%, 95% and 100%), we will send an automated email alert.

Auto payment notification:

  • Sent when subscription auto-renew is enabled or disabled
  • Sent when prepay auto-payments set up or canceled
  • Sent when balance auto-topup settings were updated
  • Sent when any auto payment failed or succeeded - for subscriptions or prepay balance

Backup capacity alert:

  • Sent when one or more folders/drives should have been backed up, but weren't, as the additional storage usage would have taken the user into burst with less than 7 days of capacity.

Expiration:

  • A notification on the expiration of a subscription. Alerts are trigger a week before, a day before and on the day of expiration. When a plan expires, we also send an SMS alert.
  • A notification on the prepay balance running out. Alerts are triggered a week before, a day before and on the day of the balance running out of credit. Please note that these notifications are based on expected resource usage which doesn't take data traffic into account, hence might be inaccurate. When a prepay balance runs out, we also send an SMS alert.

Credit card

  • Sent after the stored card has been removed.

Reduced service due to lack of payments

  • Unpaid servers stopped: Sent when the billing cycle is automatically shutting down a user's servers. SMS
  • Storage to be deleted: Sent when the billing cycle detects the account has been unpaid for 23 days and there are still resources in it.

If you have any question, please leave a comment.